Connect Systems CS700 DMR handheld

When you focus too much on Chinese radios, which are supposed to be cheaper than anything else, you might miss something. I did miss something indeed, but thanks to Jason KC5HWB (click here) I can make up for my apparent tunnel vision.

I never heard of Connect Systems before, which caused me to miss a potential gem: the Connect Systems CS700 DMR handheld. This radio, fully compatible with Motorola and Hytera DMR radios, changes hands for around $180. I discussed the radio with PA0ETE, who is now in the process of acquiring two samples.

If all goes according to plan, we will share our findings with you as soon as possible.

CS700

5 comments on “Connect Systems CS700 DMR handheld

  1. This looks great. The HT website sats 4W and the specifications say 1W (or more specifically “1000mW”). Will be great to hear how it tests – I am keen to try DMR and the price point on this is very attractive!

  2. I just had the pleasure of programing this great little HT. First off let me say that Jerry at Connect Systems is one of the good guys. He will answer the phone on the second ring and answer any and all of your questions. Now for the radio, I don’t get to excited about many HT’s but this one is one of the better ones to come out of China. The RX is better then most and the output audio is right up there with the more expensive brand names ones from Japan. I would say almost as loud as my Motorola GP300. I work in a very high intermod area and my Yeasu mobile gets hammered with intermod and this radio just laughs at it. It feels solid in your hand unlike most of the ones made in China. There are more then five DMR repeaters in the NYC and northern NJ area so I just wanted to get my feet wet and not spend a boat load of money, this HT will do it and do it very well. The only downfall is you cant program it on the fly but if you set it up with all the frequencies you use most your good to go. So there you have it a great little HT at a great price. I have only used it for a few days but I will post back in awhile to let you know how it holds up in the real world.

  3. Its about time they put these DMR teir 2 HTs on Ebay … 250 € is far too much, the whole point of buying chinese HTs is that they are ‘supposed to be’ cheap.
    $180 – (£108 UK) is about right.. but where are they ?
    cant find any Chinese sites selling them, only overpriced european importers.
    .. i guess they dont want us to find chinese £120 DMR HTs..

    • Connect Systems Inc.
      5321 Derry Ave
      Suite B
      Agoura Hills, CA 91301
      PH: (805) 642-7184
      FAX: (805) 642-7271

Comments are closed.