Just canceled an order for a Samsung Smart TV

… after reading online reports regarding their Privacy Policy regarding the use of their Smart TV’s.

“Samsung may collect and your device may capture voice commands and associated texts so that we can provide you with Voice Recognition features and evaluate and improve the features. Please be aware that if your spoken words include personal or other sensitive information, that information will be among the data captured and transmitted to a third party through your use of Voice Recognition.”

I’ll buy a dumb TV. Much cheaper, and its lack of any intelligence will be more in line with the quality of the programs.

Speaking of which: I remember that I forgot to mail FOX. Around New Year they aired SHREK, and I thought that would be a nice program for my little granddaughter to watch while I did some shopping.

shrekBig mistake. After I returned she asked me questions about some ads about vaginal infections and Durex pleasure gel. FOX must be desperate for money, and determined to ruin a little girl’s innocence. Idiots.

6 comments on “Just canceled an order for a Samsung Smart TV

  1. Yes, a dumb flat TV + a Raspberry Pi running XBMC (renamed Kodi if I’m correct) – is all what you need.
    I bought last year a nice huge LG 3D smart TV, I connected to my LAN and I was disappointed, the TV is really slow, On the other hand, LG wants me to go through their environment (LG world) and to supply me with their adds. I see no sense since I had to pay for the device, Internet connection and everything else. Therefore the RPi + Kodi helped a lot to give purpose for the TV.

  2. I have an Element Tv. Nice and big. All the latest features…except the smart functions. Adding components to make it “smart” would still be very cost effective, without anyone snooping. This is sad a company cannot design a smart tv that is less invasive.

    Also, I cannot understand why a network would have to schedule adult oriented commercials during family movies.

  3. Hahaha, the ‘big mistake’ here was assuming that Shrek is a kid’s show because it’s a cartoon. It never was for kids, and never will be.

Comments are closed.