First impressions TYT DM-UVF10

I’ve been playing around with a set of TYT DM-UVF10 radios for a few days.

TYT DM-UVF10A  few things I noticed so far:

  • Sound quality is surprisingly good on dPMR, better than D-Star or DMR. (If you never used D-Star or DMR: at first everyone sounds like they suffer from bird flu, but you get used to it)
  • RX sensitivity doesn’t impress, but this could be antenna-related.
  • Manual not very helpful (understatement)
  • Latest software doesn’t work on my XP machines (Communication Error). Will try Vista or 7.
  • When trying to program the radio manually, I messed up the configuration within minutes. There’s no logic in the menus.
  • Menus are only partly translated into English, some sub-menus are littered with Chinese characters.
  • Secret menus: the firmware of these radios can be upgraded!
  • Nice, solid feel.

10 comments on “First impressions TYT DM-UVF10

  1. Some comments which were accidentally posted under “About:

    Thomas August 1, 2014 @ 8:05 pm

    In fact, this is a very good blog. I wonder whether or not Hans the ham expert has ever tested the brand-new digital TYT DM-UVF10 radio. Well built and rock-solid, however, there seems to be an issue with TYT’s programming software for this unit (communication error). There are people on US ham radio forums confirming the communication error issue between TYT’s software and its radio. I wonder who, if ever, has successfully succeeded in programming this new unit.

    F4AVI November 5, 2014 @ 12:53 pm

    With the latest software from TYT or TYT-USA group, it works, and you have no communication error. The programming cable is the “standard” Kenwood USB cable.

    Hans November 5, 2014 @ 1:19 pm

    I have two of these radios here now. Even with the latest greatest TYT software I haven’t been able to program the radios under two versions of Windows XP, both of which are used daily for programming various radios. “Communication Error” is all I get. The cable doesn’t matter (direct RS-232, USB-serial). I’ll try Vista and 7 later.

    Thomas November 5, 2014 @ 3:08

    I doubt that software works in Windows XP environment. By the way, messaging option DOES not work. You would require units from the latest TYT production.

  2. Hi Hans, I know this comment is unrelated but thought you may know of or how to fix a problem with the baofeng UV-5R When you turn beep off the radio,s cant communicate with each other, turn off and back on again and they can, however if you change channels they wont communicate again! Turn beep back on and problem goes away..

    Your thoughts?

    • According to reliable sources all Chinese dPMR radios use the ‘Nantong Institute’ vocoder. In theory all Chinese dPMR radios should be able to talk to each other. Early reports show that this might not be the case, which is very unfortunate. It will take time to figure out what brands are compatible with each other. I will be able to test the TYT with Kirisun.

  3. I have bought several of these DM-UVF10 radios. I’ve used them both for Ham radio and dPmr. One radio (bought through a retailer) does have a few firmware bugs…but I couldn’t find any bug on the ones I bought directly from TYT china. Everything works fine, but some functions did take several hit and miss for them to work. And one even had me email TYT’s support (encryption) . I got an answer in less than 24 hours and all is now working fine. You must have the programming cable for some functions, unless the dealer took care of it (like setting encryption key for encryption to work). Well, I didn’t need encryption but I wanted to try it on dPmr just for fun. It does work, once you know how to program it. I highly recommend this radio and the programming software/cable It’s pretty versatile. I find the digital audio better than DMR and DSTAR like someone else said.
    In analog, the speaker can handle great volume without clipping and the sound is crisp and clear in pretty much every situation. The user manual is one downside but you can work around this issue with patience. Great value for money if you ask me. I wish they had a DMR version of it.

  4. Hello and good day,

    can someone say something if the “TYT DM-UVF10” with the “Kirisun S780” communicate (combine) can?

Comments are closed.