Baofeng GT-3 Antenna: Hot Hot Hot!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI’m rather busy reviewing two radios: the Baofeng GT-3 and the Zastone ZT-2R. I don’t want to get into too much details about my findings, but one thing deserves a blog post of its own: the Baofeng GT-3 stock antenna.

The antenna proves to be far from efficient and more or less kills the radio’s potential. I also felt that the antenna was running very hot at the base.

I connected a temperature probe to the base of the antenna with duct tape and measured three states: receiving at room temperature, temperature after one minute of transmitting and after three minutes of transmitting.

GT-3 Antenna Temperature

Talking 3 minutes results in 53 degrees C / 127 degrees F.

It’s clear that a lot of the energy is not radiated but converted into heat instead. This does not occur when I use a good antenna, such as the UV-B5 stock antenna or a Nagoya NA-701.

11 comments on “Baofeng GT-3 Antenna: Hot Hot Hot!

    • Nope. If so, it would also occur with the other antennas, right? And I surely wouldn’t feel the heat with my fingers after I let go of the PTT button.

  1. after receiving a second GT3 from the bayseller, due to a not working mic\speaker port, my second one also fails: it Tx’s only temporary. upshot: i dont buy there anymore, neither UV-5aRse and derivates anywhere.😦

  2. This is typical of Chinese mass produced shoddy workmanship with low or non existant QA found on many products, what do we expect for the price when they produce 100’s of Thousands? Out of my Baofeng stock, I have a UV-3R with slow warm up LCD display, and a UV-B5 with a faulty rotary encoder. I also have an Android tablet that quit after 9 months with a blue screen.😦

    One pays his money and takes his chance.

    73 G1KQH

  3. Pingback: Baofeng GT-3 Antenna: Hot Hot Hot! | Ham Radio Blog PD0AC | KH6JRM's Amateur Radio Blog

  4. That’s one way to make a small antenna a “flat” impedance match over the operating range of the radio — make it a leaky, 50-Ohm dummy load.

Comments are closed.