What Wouxun really needs

After all the commotion about a possible flaw in certain hand-helds, I wondered what went wrong and how Wouxun could do better in the future. I came up with a few thoughts (which aren’t necessarily feasible, please leave your comments).

Good things about Wouxun
  • What Wouxun really wants, no doubt about that, is to become a big player. Their current range of ham radios and plans for future models are a good indication. Competition = good.
  • The quality of their hand-helds is on par with the big four. Mobile radios are getting there.
  • Pricing is still competitive (but only just.)
Bad things about Wouxun
  • Becoming a big player is a two-edged sword. If you want to compete with Yaesu, Kenwood, Alinco and ICOM, you also need to look at their business models and how they treat dealers and customers. The big four all have professional distributions system of their own and don’t rely on, for example, a family business owner who wants to make a buck or two.
  • Warranty. Even with a solid warranty in place, shipping costs prevent current dealers from sending back defective units. Again: set up subsidiary companies in the USA and Europe and let these handle it, or give heavy discounts to current dealers to compensate for losses when they place the next order.
  • Hire seasoned hams to take a look at beta versions of new radios before shipping them out — if there are bugs or flaws, these nit pickers will surely find them. Don treat customers like they were guinea pigs.
  • Online presence. Communicate with your customers on Google+, Twitter, ham radio forums or whatever other website. (*)
  • Damage control. React swiftly if misinformation pops up on the Web. Bad news travels faster than good news.
  • Current customers are more important than new ones. Investing time and money on attracting new customers is wasteful and one of the main reasons many companies fail. Little or no money is spent on engaging current customers, creating a high churn rate. Focus on the customers that matter – the customers you already have. If they’re happy, they will do the advertising for you – and for free.

(*) I intentionally left out Facebook: most if not all Google+ ham radio communities are public and can be read by anyone, while most on Facebook are not. Don’t force people to register somewhere just to be able to read something.

8 comments on “What Wouxun really needs

  1. As always, I enjoy your write up, however, discounting Facebook is similar to a Windows user discounting the value of Linux or a Mac user making fun of a Windows user. There are resources that others find useful that are very good that some people are disgusted by🙂 Either way, then #NSA is listening to all of it🙂 73’s

    • You’re partially right — it’s not so much Facebook’s fault, but of the people who started certain groups and don’t tag these as ‘Public’.

      However, according to media experts most nerds, geeks (and probably hams) are present on Google+, which means that it wouldn’t be a bad choice.

      • I won’t use google plus, even though I have a gmail account. I do however follow the following facebook groups on ham radio:
        General ham radio stuff: https://www.facebook.com/groups/12699105116/
        10 meter talk: https://www.facebook.com/groups/10meterhamradio/

        I’m certain there are equivalent groups on google+ or even yahoo groups. It’s just personal preference. For those that say “I don’t want a facebook account because of privacy”, well, Google is no better. I’m not saying Google plus is not a great resource at all, just not for me, just like a Mac book is not for me. I hated my droid, but love my iPhone. It’s all about what works for you🙂

        I would love to see Wouxun enter stronger into the market place.

        Speaking of, has anyone ordered any Japanese radio products and put a Geiger counter up to them lately?

  2. Having to ferry a bunch of broken radios back in a suitcase to be fixed isn’t a good model?!?!?!

    One of the reasons I liked Ed was he was very active on the Yahoo Group when the KG-UV1DP first came out. (Actually, there were two Eds that were very helpful.)

    They don’t need to hire seasoned hams – they just need to let you play with the new ones!

  3. Good ideas, IMHO to idealistic.
    Chinese companies, some really large can’t even get the English manuals right.
    Can you name 5 CH companies that have good communications skills (by “western” standards anyway) ?

  4. I agree about the Facebook issue. It’s not good to have any web application that depends on users doing things right. That being said, the first thing I did when I got my Samsung Galaxy S4 Mini was turn off Google+. I’m a lot more careful about posting at Google owned sites as well, YouTube, for example, does not allow you to opt out of Google+. You have to uncheck the box every time. I had enough posts at YouTube, where I didn’t notice the little checkbox, that my phone was immediately flooded with replies to my posts. Really, I don’t need to read replies from YouTube on my phone. I guess I’m just a Luddite, but I don’t want to give the NSA more information about me than they already have.

    • You’re right about privacy — both platforms suck. Yet I think Google+ has a slight edge because you don’t need to register in order to read something.

Comments are closed.