Linux Talk: Raspberry Pi or Parallella?

It’s no secret that I’m a loyal user of Linux. I never abandoned Windows completely though, until Windows 8 appeared. The dismal Metro interface (almost as bad as Ubuntu’s Unity) made me look elsewhere, probably for good. I’m typing this post on a Compaq notebook, loaded with Linux Mint 13 (Maya) and the Cinnamon desktop. After test driving numerous options, this will be the desktop of choice for now. That’s the nice thing about open source: at least you have a choice.

There’s more in life than desktops, notebooks and netbooks. The Raspberry Pi for example was something hovering on my wish list for quite a while. I think it’s brilliant, and the number of ham radio operators getting this device to do useful work is staggering. Suddenly, out of the blue, there’s the Parallella, made by Adapteva. The Parallella is a $99 supercomputer the size of a credit card, and supposedly capable of 90 GFLOPS of performance. To put this into perspective: you would need a 45GHz processor to achieve the same on the average desktop. Wow.

Here is how it looks like:


Dual-core ARM A9 processor and a 64-core Epiphany Multicore Accelerator chip, along with 1GB of RAM, a microSD card, two USB 2.0 ports, 10/100/1000 Ethernet, and an HDMI connection.

I might have a go at this one.

One comment on “Linux Talk: Raspberry Pi or Parallella?

Comments are closed.