Best QSO Ever. Period.

Only 4 Watts output – it can be done.

It might be hard to believe that a 90-second QSO can make any impression at all, but it did. Yet I almost failed to mention it on this blog. Too many things going on here (repairs, review stuff pouring in).

Two days before storm Sandy hit the east cost of the USA, I managed to hit the 10 meter repeater KQ2H in NY with just a hand held.

I modified this Midland Alan 42 Multi, originally sold as a CB transceiver, to extend the range up to 30MHz or so. I also added a 60cm long helical antenna, because the stock antenna is of no use whatsoever.

I didn’t have much faith in my experiment, and the first few days this proved to be true. To maximize my chances of pulling this off, I left town and went to one of the dikes here. No obstructions and a large body of water can make a huge difference.

Then there was the break I hoped for. The only person I managed to contact during those 90 seconds was Iain, M1OOO. When the microphone was turned back to me, other (rude, impatient) stations took over. Still good enough for me!

7 comments on “Best QSO Ever. Period.

  1. Excellent result! Those unexpected things are what we are all hoping for. And that’s the best part of our hobby, to be surprised by the unexpected…

  2. Ja dit is leuk Hans. Van zoiets droomde ik destijds dat ik met mijn AM walky talky de amerkaanse truckdrivers hoorde in eind tachtiger jaren. Ik neem aan dat dit gewoon in FM was? Heb eerlijk gezegd die repeater nog nooit beluisterd geloof ik. Kan me voorstellen dat dit je mooiste contact was….73, Bas

    • Dankje Bas.

      Ja, gewoon FM. Als de condities het toelaten, dan is het ding hier gemiddeld S9+20dB.

      Vorig jaar rond deze tijd heb ik drie maanden op rij via KQ2H kunnen werken.

  3. Hallo Hans,
    inderdaad fantastisch, en dan te bedenken dat ik ook nog zo’n ding heb liggen! Die ga ik dus ook maar eens modificeren. Als jouw porto net als mijne op volle accuspanning net even ruim 1 watt leverd, geeft dat jouw QSO nog meer glans! Wat is het merk/type van die helix antenne?
    73 van Ad,

Comments are closed.