Wouxun KG-UV920R FUD

Brilliant billboard ad from Hoover. For some reason I had to think of this while writing this post.

FUD is generally a strategic attempt to influence perception by disseminating negative and dubious or false information. An individual firm, for example, might use FUD to invite unfavourable opinions and speculation about a competitor’s product; to increase the general estimation of switching costs among current customers; or to maintain leverage over a current business partner who could potentially become a rival. (Source: Wikipedia)

And for the first time in my life I’m the one spreading it.

I’m afraid we have to face the possibility that the Wouxun KG-UV920R will never materialize into the miracle rig we hoped for. Specs changed, all for the worse. Introduction dates never materialized either. Pricing is now scratching Yaesu / Kenwood territory. No FCC approval. Some reports mention bugs which forced the manufacturer to recall complete initial batches. Questions asked by e-mail go unanswered. Unanswered e-mails always gives me a certain insight in company policies. It means they don’t care. All in all it doesn’t look good. Period.

Brick O’Lore kept much better track of the KG-UV920R soap than I did, this link will be much more informative than anything found on my blog.

One comment on “Wouxun KG-UV920R FUD

Comments are closed.