HAM radio operators are compulsive hoarders

There it is. I said it. Time to turn the tide. Enough is enough. What’s the point of having five HF rigs? A dozen or so receivers? It’s time to sell off some gear.

I know the reason behind my reluctance to sell off gear. When I sold gear in the past, I always regretted it later. The equipment I have is always in pristine condition, both electronically and cosmetically. You will have a hard time finding gear in the same condition. There’s always a voice in my head whispering “Do you really think the new owner will take care of it the same way you did?” Sigh.

Unfortunately I’m running out of space. My Yaesu FT-840 already found a new owner and will be picked up later this week. Next on the list of things to go is my FRG-7700 with all the accessories that come with it: converter, tuner and preselector. Darn, I will miss that beautiful warm audio… The FRG-8800, including the built-in VHF converter, will be put up for sale after that. Darn, I will miss that beautiful warm audio…

There’s a lot of interest for my FT-7B and YF-7B, and I could sell my complete FT-901 line without placing an ad. I’m not ready for that though. One step at the time.

3 comments on “HAM radio operators are compulsive hoarders

  1. Funny. I have been thinking there should be a show about Ham Radio Hoarders. That hoarders show is nothing compared to Ham Radio Hoarders. Me too. It’s all good stuff. Or needs to be repaired when I retire. yeah right. Bob

  2. Let’s not be too disapproving of the ham who accumulates radio related things. I don’t regard them all as “hoarders” It all depends on the use that we put the goods to. .

    OK, I will admit that I do not need 3 functional HF rigs, but they could be sold without much trouble.
    To convince myself that I am capable of parting with some ham treasures, I recently got rid of some old microphones and it did not break my heart. I know that some hams enjoy displaying a dozen D-104 microphones, I can only guess why. Maybe hams overcompensate for their early years. For example, when they did not have a decent pair of headphones and now have some for music, some for code, some for crystal sets, some for shutting out ambient sounds.

    My box of ceramic standoff and feed-through insulators would be hoarding if I could get such parts at a moment’s notice when needed. Same for the box of transmitting type RF switches and variable capacitors, which were mostly made before I was even born.

    What may seem like a duplication of resources is not always so. I kept my old analog signal generators wheh I acquired the more modern synthesized, stable signal generator. For a quick manual sweep across the HF bands, the old analog generator is hard to beat. The old oscilloscope has a large, easy to read screen, where the new one has a more informative screen that is less easy on the eyes. Keep both o-scopes.

    Here’s how to reduce the amount of ham magazines on the shelf. . Occasionally someone wil ask about my ham license plate or the antennas on the car. The conversation can be short or long, but in closing, I always try to hand him an issue or two of QST for further study. So keep a few old issues in your car’s trunk and you might help promote the radio hobby.

Comments are closed.