The Dove Experiment

dove.jpgPigeons are sensitive to electromagnetic fields, so they say. True or not? Time to put this to the test. I have a regular visitor, a turtle dove, who takes a daily nap on one of the radials of my 5/8 wave vertical for 10 meters. He/she must really like it there, almost every day, the bird is present.

I set my Yaesu FT-840 to 29.300 MHz, FM mode, and the initial power output to 5 Watts. No reaction. At 10 Watts, the bird raises its head and starts to look around a bit. At 15 Watts, my feathered fan becomes restless and starts to hop around. At 25 Watts, the turtle dove takes off.


I repeated the test a few times, just to be sure. On average, the turtle dove leaves my antenna when the power is around 25 Watts. Amazing, these animals.

3 comments on “The Dove Experiment

  1. LOL!! Vy funny..

    At this QTH i use a discone for 2m VHF. This thing has elements all over the place- up, down, sideways. A haven for birds.

    I don’t use 2m very often, but now you mention it, 25w is capable from my 2m rig…

    Plus, it might make the site of bird poo on my driveway a little less noticeable.

    If you go to QRz com and type in my callsign, look closely and you’ll see the discone on the apex of the house. I recall 16 newly hatched blackbirds on there this spring….if only i’d known 25 watts was a good deterrant!

    Colin MM0NDX

  2. Hi Colin,

    if birds other than pigeons are sensitive too: I have no idea. It’s worth a try!

    I use a discone too (the stainless steel HAM version from Diamond) as an addition to my X50. It’s a funny little thing, designed in such a way that you can use it on 6 meters, 2 meters, 70 cm and 23 cm.

    When you look at the ray diagram, you will see that a discone has horizontal components too. When listening to SSB stations in the 144 MHz band, the discone proved to be a better choice.

Comments are closed.