Spare components? China.

This blog post won’t capture your attention unless you build or repair a lot. Why China? Most shops I bought my components in the past don’t exist anymore. I’d rather buy locally, but that’s becoming harder and harder, and relatively expensive.

Since a few years I have all my spare components shipped from China, sometimes for less money than a local dealer charges for shipping. Just ordered this to get my stock up-to-date again:

Capacitors

2400 ceramic capacitors, click image for seller

A box full of the most common values (2400 pcs) for just 21 Euros. The nice box is included, and so is shipping. I do this a lot lately; I think all the repairs I did for others last year (dead transceivers, switching PSUs, and everything else) were done with components bought from eBay.

I’ll have to check on my electrolytic capacitors too, these go fast as well. 500 pieces will set me back 14 euros.

Elcos

500 pieces, 20 common values, 14 euros

5 comments on “Spare components? China.

  1. And the strange thing is: you even find very seldom IC for example for IC703 for power amplifyer at aliexpress.com, i was suprised, reading that its basicaly impossible to get any parts exept directly from ICOM, but found really everything at aliexpress.com, just waiting for my 2,xx euro orders :-))
    Wolf.

  2. The only thing better than cheap is free. I’m amazed that I can obtain solid state relays that retails for around $70 USD from TE Connectivity, lots of various IC’s from TI, LEDs from various companies. *Hint, even if a manufacturer doesn’t have a sample option, you can usually shoot them an email and more often than not they will send a small quantity of the particular product that your interested in.

Leave a Reply

