Repeater For Preppers

Now and then I watch a show called “Doomsday Preppers” on National Geographic. Interestingly many give extensive thought to communications, and I’ve seen quite a few preppers owning some sort of ham radio equipment. It’s not always clear if they have a license, but who cares if Armageddon is upon you?

After communicating with Baojie about their latest radios, I also spotted a camouflage backpack containing a complete repeater plus 20.000 mAh Li-Ion battery. Set one up at the highest point you can find and you instantly increase your range from just one or two miles to maybe 30 miles. Maximum power output is 10 Watts, but that’s probably a bad idea. It can also run on half the power, which would do just fine and keeps the repeater running for a much longer time.

backpack1backpack2backpack3

No price is given, but the factory charges $265 for the repeater itself. Just add a bunch of cheap Chinese hand helds and you’re ready for anything.

Repeater

13 comments on “Repeater For Preppers

    • I think the word previously used was ‘Survivalist’. ‘Prepper’ became more fashionable lately. You knew this, of course, but as you see I answer the question anyway ;)

  1. Prepper are people who are aware of the need to prepare for desasters (flood, hurrican, nuclear meltdown, total blackout, pandemia). The word Prepper is devided from Thema noun Preparedness .
    Prepper offen include the collapse of society and civilisation into their scenario. This may happen in result of long term desasters (followed by govermental impotence), finincial crisis, riots, revolutions, wars and so on.
    That’s why prepper choose to Bank in their own prepartion instead offen govermantal help. For example they stockpile food, water, batteries and as you see above even their own communication devices in order to independent from the fragile PSTN.

  2. Pingback: Repeater in een rugzak » Hamnieuws

  3. Considering a lot of modern handhelds have cross band repeat functions you could do some interesting things just with that.

    And range wise – I have a Yaesu VX-7r and can reliably hit repeaters that are 10 to 20 miles from here. I do live on a hill so that may explain it.

      • Sure, I’m aware of that. But for the $40 range you might get a dual band. The Yaesu is a quad band transceiver. I paid $350 for the Yaesu – my KST V6 was $50 so I could have gotten 7 of those but do I really need that?

      • I dont know, do you prepare for the end of the world by a zombie solar flare virus? :P
        imo its better to have one radio per person versus one good radio for whole group

  4. Your post made me look back at my “Prep” label… faraday bags, zombies, gas masks, guns, food, etc. Julian (or others), if you want to get up to speed on preppers I recommend “Patriots: Surviving the Coming Collapse” – it is a work of fiction but also part how-to. There is a section on communications – basically ham radio – and I’m sure it is grossly over-simplified for Hans’ readers, but it was interesting for me.

    http://www.brickolore.com/2013/02/patriots-surviving-coming-collapse-ham.html

    Cheers,
    B

  5. Pingback: Repeater in een rugzak : PI4UTR "Keep the fun alive"

  6. I’m also curious as there’s only one antenna on this backpack. I know for repeaters you need a set of tuned cans to be able to both receive and send at the same time. Or is it s simplex repeater of sorts? Takes voice in and then re-broadcasts it?

Leave a Reply

